Team Members

Pedro Val

Pedro is an Assistant Professor at Queens College, City University of New York. He investigates landscape evolution as a function of the competing interactions between tectonics, rock types, climate, and geomorphic processes. Currently, he focuses on the role of variable rock types in causing widespread landscape change in intraplate settings and its consequences for the evolution fish.

Luca Malatesta

Luca works on tectonic and climatic geomorphology using simple numerical models and field work. He is a senior scientist and group leader at GFZ Potsdam since 2020. At the moment he mainly works on the record of tectonic activity in the coastal landscapes of active margins.

Ana Rita Carrasco

A. Rita Carrasco is an Assistant Researcher in the Centre for Marine and Environmental Research, University of Algarve (Portugal). Through field data collection and modelling, she researches the interaction of hydrodynamics and sediment transport along salt marsh coastlines, especially the bordering tidal flat areas and other channelized systems. She is interested in salt marsh restoration strategies and optimizing wetlands-based solutions. Her current investigation focuses on understanding the long-term and large-scale biophysical resilience of wetlands.

Elizabeth Orr

Lizzie is a lecturer in the School of Geographical Sciences at the University of Bristol, UK. Her research primarily focuses on the earth surface processes and evolution of glaciated and mountain landscapes. Her particular research interests lie in the processes and impacts of erosion. She uses a combination of field and laboratory techniques and numerical modeling to investigate the evolution of these dynamic landscapes.

Aditi K. Dave

Aditi K. Dave is a post-doctoral fellow in the ERC project PROGRESS at Babes Bolyai University, Cluj-Napoca, Romania. Her main research interests lie in the field of geochronology, climate and geomorphology. She is particularly interested in the development and application of trapped charge techniques (luminescence and electron spin resonance), not only as an absolute dating method, but also as a provenance tool. Her current research uses these techniques to investigate how detrital quartz crystals can inform our understanding of sediment transport, erosion and deposition in sedimentary environments, thus  providing insight into landscape-climate interactions over a range of timescales. 

Youwei Wang

Youwei Wang is a postdoctoral researcher within the Landscape Evolution Group at the University of Virginia. He has a broad interest in fluvial-deltaic geomorphology, sedimentology, and stratigraphy, employing an integrative approach that combines numerical modeling, flume experimentation, drone photogrammetry, and outcrop analog. His primary interest lies in understanding the response of both contemporary and ancient river systems to various forcings, such as climatic variations, sea-level changes, and tectonic activities.

Anne-Laure Argentin

Anne-Laure is a post-doctoral researcher in the River Basin Group at the Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy. Her research focuses on the development and application of models, from subsurface structure to land surface processes. She currently simulates alpine bedload transport in the context of climate change and models a range of surface processes from hydrological melt regimes to glacier and hillslope erosion. She enjoys fieldwork and loves coding with her colleagues in the evenings. 

Dina Fieman

Dina is an Assistant Professor at the Geosciences Department of the University of Rennes (France). He uses and develops numerical models, geophysical methods and quantitative observations to explore the interplays between tectonics and landscape evolution. His current research focuses on modeling how large-magnitude storms and earthquakes contribute to the long-term dynamics of landscapes. 

Past members:

Steffi Tofelde

(University of Potsdam)

Vivi Pedersen

(Aarhus University)

Charles Shobe

(US Forest Service)

Wolfgang Schwanghart

(University of Potsdam)

Pierre Valla

(Université Grenoble Alpes)

Philippe Steer

(Université Rennes I)

Michal Ben-Israel

(UC Merced)

Rebekah Harries

(Durham University)

Boris Gailleton

(Université Rennes I)